Electricity ring-fencing guideline review

  • Accepting submissions
Sector: 
Segment: 
Category: 
Ring fencing guideline
Status: 
Date initiated: 
16 August 2019
Effective date: 
10 September 2021
Contact: 
General enquiries - Ring-fencing AERringfencing@aer.gov.au

Overview

On 16 August 2019, we commenced a review of the Ring-fencing Guideline (Electricity distribution) (Version 2). The objectives of this review are to update the current guideline to clarify some obligations and to make compliance less administratively complex. This review was paused to address other work priorities resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

When the review resumed, we extended the review to include ring-fencing interactions with stand-alone power systems (SAPS) and energy storage devices. 

On 20 November 2020, we published an issues paper for consultation. We also published the submissions received in response.

Invitation for submissions

On 27 May 2021, we published the draft Ring-fencing Guideline (Electricity distribution) (Version 3) and explanatory statement for consultation. We are now seeking submissions from stakeholders by 8 July 2021.

Online forum

The AER will host an online forum on 9 June 2021 for interested stakeholders. To register please email your name, organisation and email address to AERringfencing@aer.gov.au by 7 June 2021.