Electricity ring-fencing guideline review

Sector: 
Segment: 
Category: 
Ring fencing guideline
Status: 
Date initiated: 
16 August 2019
Effective date: 
10 September 2021
Contact: 
General enquiries - Ring-fencing AERringfencing@aer.gov.au

Overview

On 16 August 2019, we commenced a review of the Ring-fencing Guideline (Electricity distribution) (Version 2). The objectives of this review are to update the current guideline to clarify some obligations and to make compliance less administratively complex. This review was paused to address other work priorities resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

When the review resumed, we extended the review to include ring-fencing interactions with stand-alone power systems (SAPS) and energy storage devices.

On 20 November 2020, we published an issues paper for consultation. We also published the submissions received in response.

On 9 June 2021, we hosted an online forum for interested stakeholders and have published the presentation slides.

On 27 May 2021, we published the draft Ring-fencing Guideline (Electricity distribution) (Version 3) and explanatory statement for consultation. Submissions closed on 8 July 2021 and those received are available to view.

On 31 August 2021, we published an additional consultation note for stakeholder comment. Feedback on the consultation note closed on 14 September 2021.