Transfer of functions from ESC

The AER assumed responsibility for the economic regulation of Victorian electricity distribution network service providers (DNSPs) on 1 January 2009. This function was previously the responsibility of the Essential Services Commission of Victoria (ESC). The responsibilities are conferred upon the AER by the operation of the National Electricity (Victoria) Act 2005 (NEVA) in accordance with the Trade Practices Act 1974 and the Australian Energy Market Agreement. The NEVA specifically confers economic regulatory functions, powers and duties on the AER. The AER will also assume responsibility for some related non-economic functions. These non-economic functions are to be specified in a Victorian Order in Council under section 21 of the NEVA and were previously also the responsibility of the ESC.

The DNSPs in Victoria are CitiPower, Powercor, Jemena, AusNet Services and United Energy.