

C/- PalerangCouncil PO Box 348 Bungendore NSW 2621 Telephone: (02) 6238 8111 Fax: (02) 6238 1290 Email: <u>helen.swan@palerang.nsw.gov.au</u>

11 August 2014

Mr John Skinner Director – Network Regulation Australian Energy Regulator Level 20 - 175 Pitt Street Sydney NSW 2000

## Email: john.skinner@aer.gov.au; NSWACTelectricity@aer.gov.au

Dear Mr Skinner

## **Re: Public Lighting Proposal**

The South East Regional Organisation of Councils (SEROC) comprises the ACT Government and the councils of Bombala, Boorowa, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Harden, Palerang, Queanbeyan, Snowy River, Upper Lachlan, Yass Valley and Young. Bega Valley Shire has also just recently joined SEROC. SEROC represents approximately 220,000 people (includes Bega Valley Shire but excludes the ACT) covering an area of approximately 53,000 km2.

Our member Councils were shocked to receive advice regarding the proposed price hikes for street lighting. Given the complex nature of the issue, SEROC has sought specialist advice regarding the submission by Essential Energy (EE) to the Australian Energy Regulator (AER). SEROC partnered the Regional Organisation of Councils (ROC) of CENTROC, RIVROC, REROC and NOROC in preparing their collective response regarding the EE proposal. Please find attached the submission to the AER by CENTROC, who was the lead ROC in preparing the submission. SEROC endorses the advice provided in the attached and commends it to the AER.

SEROC suggests that the increase in pricing is effectively indirect taxation. We are deeply concerned that rural and regional NSW communities will be disadvantaged as we simply do not have the alternative revenue sources as currently held by our metropolitan counterparts.

We therefore implore the AER to deeply interrogate the claims made by EE.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours faithfully

Dr Helen Swan Executive Officer

South East Regional Organisation of Councils (SEROC) Comprising the ACT Government and the Councils of Bombala, Boorowa, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Harden, Palerang, Queanbeyan, Snowy River, Upper Lachlan, Yass Valley and Young