AER welcomes new Chair

Ms Paula Conboy today commences as the new Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator (AER). Ms Conboy has over 20 years’ experience in public utility regulation in Australia and Canada and was previously a Member of the Ontario Energy Board in Canada.

“The AER has done an enormous amount of work to develop better regulatory frameworks and tools so that the long-term interests of consumers are central to our decisions,” Ms Conboy said.

“The current round of network pricing reviews gives us the opportunity to put these reforms into practice. I am looking forward to working with the AER Board members and staff to deliver better network regulation.”

Ms Conboy highlighted that consumer confidence is vital for well-functioning energy markets.

“The AER’s work in network regulation and retail and wholesale markets helps ensure the integrity of energy markets, so that consumers can trust that they are receiving a service that meets their needs and are paying no more than necessary.”

“Finally, I would like to thank outgoing Chair Andrew Reeves for his significant contribution over the last six years. He has led the AER through a time of policy development and change, including the implementation of reforms to network regulation, the roll-out of the National Energy Retail Law and Rules, and new roles for the AER in monitoring wholesale gas markets,” Ms Conboy said.

“The AER Board and staff wish Andrew all the best for the future.”

Ms Conboy’s biography is available on the AER website.

Issued date: 
1 October 2014
AER reference: 
NR 19/14