Customer Consultative Group

The Customer Consultative Group (CCG) provides advice to the AER in relation to our functions under the energy laws affecting energy consumers across participating jurisdictions.

The inaugural CCG was appointed in 2009 to enable informal consultation on the development of retail guidelines and to assist the AER in developing an understanding of retail issues prior to the commencement of the National Energy Retail Law and Rules in relevant jurisdictions on 1 July 2012.

Membership provides participating organisations with the opportunity to inform the AER about issues that impact on the groups they represent. It also provides members with the opportunity to meet with other consumer representatives to discuss key energy consumer issues.

How the group works

Formal CCG meetings are usually held three times a year.

From May 2020, the CCG is meeting more regularly as the CCG COVID-19 Working Group. This group will meet monthly to provide the AER with timely information about the impacts of COVID-19 on energy consumers. 

CCG members are required to consult with their constituency outside the meetings and members are expected to provide comment on:

  • issues and energy market developments affecting energy consumers that fall within the scope of the AER's functions under the National Electricity Law, the National Gas Law and the National Energy Retail Law;
  • information dissemination strategies and appropriate external networks available to enhance communication with community and consumer groups and energy consumers; and
  • issues as requested by the AER.

By providing advice on the above issues, members assist the AER in carrying out its functions under the national energy legislation.


In May 2017, the AER reconstituted its CCG for a minimum two year period. The AER has since exercised its right to extend the membership term. Information on the membership of the previous CCGs can be found on the past membership web page. 

There are currently 14 members of the CCG:

  2. Brotherhood of St Laurence
  3. Consumer Action Law Centre - from June 2020
  4. COTA Australia
  5. Country Women's Association of Australia
  6. Ethnic Communities Council of NSW
  7. Financial Counselling Australia - from June 2020
  8. National Retail Association
  9. Public Interest Advocacy Centre
  10. Queensland Council of Social Service
  11. Renew
  12. St Vincent de Paul Society
  13. TasCOSS
  14. Uniting Communities

Energy Consumers Australia, the Australian Energy Market Commission, and a representative from the Australian & New Zealand Energy and Water Ombudsman Network (ANZEWON) may attend meetings as observers. 


Information about what was discussed at CCG meetings can be found in the CCG Communiqués.

CCG Communiqué - 17 July 2018 ( PDF 361.25 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 13 March 2018 ( PDF 538.86 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 21 November 2017 ( PDF 205.45 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 11 December 2018 ( PDF 356.73 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 19 March 2019 ( PDF 515.57 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 23 July 2019 ( PDF 586.66 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 26 November 2019 ( PDF 629.43 KB )

CCG Communiqué - 17 March 2020 and 6 April 2020 (combined) ( PDF 487.34 KB )