AER to farewell Board Member Cristina Cifuentes

Today marks the last board meeting for long-serving Australian Energy Regulator (AER) board member Cristina Cifuentes.

The legislative changes that increase the AER Board to five full-time members will come into effect on 3 February 2020 and no longer have a requirement for an Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) Commissioner to be a member of the AER Board. Ms Cifuentes will step down from her role as a part-time Board member of the AER but will continue in her role as a full-time Commissioner at the ACCC. Ms Cifuentes served on the board for over nine years, beginning in 2010.

AER Chair Clare Savage thanked Ms Cifuentes for her dedicated service and commitment to protecting and promoting the long-term interests of Australia’s energy consumers:

“Ms Cifuentes’ dedication and commitment to quality decision making has delivered significant benefits to Australian energy consumers over this time.

“Cristina will be missed organisation wide. The contribution Cristina makes to the thinking of the board is very significant, she provides huge amounts of wisdom and enormous clarity, and that will be sorely missed.”

Issued date: 
20 December 2019
AER reference: 
AC 196/19
AER Media 0466 409 921