Jim Cox reappointed to the AER Board

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) welcomes the reappointment of Jim Cox PSM to the role of full-time AER Deputy Chair for a further two years, as announced today by the Federal Treasurer Josh Frydenberg.

Jim was first appointed as an acting AER Board Member in September 2013, and then became a permanent member from June 2014. He became the Deputy Chair in 2020.

We will continue to benefit from Jim’s wealth of knowledge and experience on economic and social policy, which includes serving as the Principal Adviser to the Government Pricing Tribunal of New South Wales from 1992 to 1996, and then leading the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) for 17 years from 1996 to 2013.

Jim has written extensively on economic and social policy issues throughout his career.  He was awarded the Public Service Medal in the Australia Day honours list in 2011 for outstanding public service to IPART.

The AER looks forward to continuing with Jim on ensuring energy consumers are better off now and in the future.

Issued date: 
5 April 2022
AER reference: 
AC 61/22
AER Media 0466 409 921 media@aer.gov.au