New Consumer Challenge Panel appointed

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) is pleased to announce the membership of its new Consumer Challenge Panel (CCP), the third iteration of this key advisory group.

The panel will advise the AER on whether the long-term interests of consumers are being appropriately considered in the AER’s decision-making, and assessing network service providers’ consumer engagement activities, including the extent to which network proposals reflect consumer preferences. Since the inaugural panel was appointed in 2013, it has been a critical part of ensuring consumers perspectives are part of our network regulatory processes.

CCP members may also provide advice to the AER on sector-wide regulatory issues and their impact on consumers.

Members are appointed to the CCP on the basis of expertise in regulatory decision-making, economic and industry analysis, and consumer insights and engagement.

The panel also sees the appointment of new members with specialist expertise in consumer insights and engagement, in line with the AER Strategic Plan 2020-25 and the recommendations of a 2019 independent review of the CCP.

The members appointed to the third CCP are:

  • Helen Bartley
  • Ron Ben-David
  • Andreas Chai
  • Elissa Freeman
  • Mark Henley
  • Robert Nicholls
  • David Prins
  • Robyn Robinson
  • Mike Swanston

The AER thanks the significant contributions of outgoing members of the second CCP, who have provided valuable advice in relation to many important proposals and issues since 2016.

Issued date: 
30 September 2021
AER reference: 
AC 153/21
General enquiries - Consumer policy, General enquiries - Consumer policy