AER Chairman appointed

Mr Andrew Reeves has been appointed Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator for three years from 19 July 2010.

Mr Reeves has been the part-time state/territory member of the AER since 17 July 2008. Prior to his AER appointment, Mr Reeves was Commissioner of the Tasmanian Government Prices Oversight Commission and Regulator of the Tasmanian electricity supply industry, responsible for technical and economic regulation of the sector, including performance standards and prices for distribution services and retail tariffs. He is also the Commissioner of the Utilities Commission of the Northern Territory. He has a degree in Engineering, with post graduate qualifications in Economics.

The AER regulates the wholesale electricity market and is responsible for the economic regulation of the electricity transmission and distribution networks in the national electricity market (NEM). The AER is also responsible for the economic regulation of gas transmission and distribution networks and enforcing the national gas law and national gas rules in all jurisdictions except Western Australia. The AER is an independent legal entity and part of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

Mr Reeves succeeds the inaugural chair Mr Steve Edwell.

Issued date: 
26 July 2010
AER reference: 
NR 006/10
Lin Enright, Media 02 6243 1108 0414 613 520
Infocentre general enquiries 1300 302 502