AER welcomes AER Board appointments

The Australian Energy Regulator welcomes the announcement by Ministers Billson and Macfarlane of new AER Board appointments.

Ms Paula Conboy, has been appointed as the full-time State/Territory member and AER Chair for a five year period from 1 October 2014. Ms Conboy has over 20 years’ experience in public utility regulation in Australia and Canada and is currently a Member of the Ontario Energy Board in Canada.

Mr James Cox PSM has been appointed as a full-time State/Territory member for a three-year period from 26 June 2014. Mr Cox has been an acting full-time State/Territory member of the AER since September 2013. He has held previous positions including acting Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART).

Mr Andrew Reeves will continue in the role as acting AER Chair until the end of September. Ms Cristina Cifuentes will continue as the Commonwealth member until June 2018.

Issued date: 
21 July 2014
AER reference: 
NR 015/14
AER Media enquiries 1300 138 917