AER welcomes new chair: Clare Savage

Incoming Australian Energy Regulator (AER) Chair Ms Clare Savage begins her term today with a focus on building Australian energy consumers’ confidence and trust in the sector.

A leader in the Australian energy sector, Ms Savage was most recently Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board (ESB) where she worked to bring a greater level of coordination to national energy policy and deliver many of the recommendations of the Finkel Review.

“Our energy sector is undergoing rapid transition which presents significant challenges for government, regulators, businesses and consumers. It is imperative that consumers see the benefits of this transition.

“Continuing to monitor the performance of the sector and ensuring that compliance with the Law and the Rules is appropriately enforced is important to building consumer trust that energy companies are doing the right thing.

“Ensuring all consumers benefit from the substantial investments that have been made in a range of new energy resources – such as rooftop solar – will require evolution in the way we regulate the system.

“A positive investment environment supported by effective regulation is also critical to ensuring the energy transition delivers affordable and reliable energy for Australian consumers,” Ms Savage said.

Prior to joining the ESB, Ms Savage held executive positions within the Business Council of Australia, EnergyAustralia and the Energy Supply Association of Australia giving her a deep understanding of electricity and gas market design and operation; network regulation and pricing; and retail market regulation.

“I would also like to thank outgoing chair Paula Conboy for leading the AER through a period of significant growth and change.

“Paula was instrumental in giving consumers a genuine seat at the table in regulatory outcomes and I wish to build on her great work.

“The AER Board and staff wish Paula all the best in her future endeavors,” said Ms Savage.

Issued date: 
14 October 2019
AER reference: 
NR 25/19
AER Media 0466 409 921