Issue date

Today we released the second contribution determination for cost recovery under the NSW Electricity Infrastructure Roadmap. The total contribution determination amount for 2024−25 is $341.24 million.

The AER is required to make annual contribution determinations by 28 February each year to set out the costs of implementing the NSW Electricity Infrastructure Investment Act 2020 (EII Act) over the coming financial year.

The amounts required to be paid by each NSW distribution network service provider (DNSP) are:

  • Ausgrid $151.13 million.
  • Endeavour Energy $123.40 million.
  • Essential Energy $66.72 million.

We gazetted our contribution determination on 21 February 2024 as required by the EII Act.

The NSW Scheme Financial Vehicle must now implement the contribution determination by issuing quarterly contribution orders to NSW distributors. The NSW distributors will recover the amounts through their approved 2024−25 network charges. The AER will receive the NSW distributors 2024-25 pricing proposals, including proposed network charges, in May following the AER’s distribution determination in April.

For further information, please visit the AER website (https://www.aer.gov.au/about/strategic-initiatives/nsw-renewable-energy-zones).