Net contract position reporting and panel of independent auditors

The Retailer Reliability Obligation (RRO) requires liable entities (relevant market customers and registered opt-in customers) to report their net contract position for a forecast reliability gap period to the AER. Reports must be submitted in accordance with the National Electricity Rules, and lodged in accordance with, and in the form specified by, the AER’s Contracts and Firmness Guidelines.

Contracts are adjusted based on their relative 'firmness'. Standard qualifying contracts are to be adjusted using a default firmness methodology, and non-standard qualifying contracts are to be adjusted using a bespoke firmness methodology developed by the liable entity.

Liable entities are required to have all bespoke firmness methodologies, and their application in a net contract position report, approved by an independent auditor on the AER's auditors panel.

Independent auditors

The AER has approved the following Independent Auditors to the Auditors Panel. Only an Independent Auditor approved to the Auditors Panel can sign-off a bespoke firmness methodology and the way it has been applied to a contract.

AER approved Independent Auditors
  Firm Email Phone
Nick Denman Energy Edge ndenman@energyedge.com.au 0409 766 904
Elliot Tonkes Energy Edge etonkes@energyedge.com.au 0407 659 625
Cau Thai Oakley Greenwood cthai@oakleygreenwood.com.au 07 3283 3249
David Rylah Advisian david.rylah@advisian.com 0438 932 419
Tim Ammundsen Advisian tim.ammundsen@advisian.com 0404 797 749
Kristyn Hart Advisian kristyn.hart@advisian.com 03 8676 3407
Andrew George Amanzi Consulting Energy Advisory Services Andrew.george@baseloadgreen.com.au 0410 436 320
Alex Georgievski Woollahra Partners alex@woollahrapartners.com.au 0416 328 316
Vernon Swanepoel Swanepoel Consulting Pty Ltd swanepoel.vernon@outlook.com 0419 305 239

 

 

 

Information for panel members

The Auditor Panel Handbook acts as a supplementary guide to the Contracts and Firmness Guidelines. It sets out governance arrangements, including how we will establish and maintain the Auditors Panel, and our monitoring and oversight of the Auditors Panel.

Apply to join the independent auditors panel

The AER is currently accepting applications from suitably qualified persons to join the independent auditors panel.

Information on how to apply is contained in the Auditor Panel Handbook. Applications and queries about the application process should be emailed to RRO@aer.gov.au.