Date initiated
Effective date

On 3 April 2023, the AER published its determination that the scheme established by section 201 of the Electrical Safety Act 2002 (Qld) is a jurisdictional scheme.

The Electrical Safety Act 2002 (Qld) established the Queensland Electrical Safety Office (ESO), Queensland’s electrical safety regulator. The ESO is responsible for administering the Electricity Safety Act 2002 - regulating the electrical industry in Queensland, to ensure Queenslanders are safe around electricity. The ESO does this by:

  • Ensuring electrical safety laws and standards are followed,
  • Managing electrical licenses for individuals and contractors,
  • Registering, accrediting, and certifying electrical safety equipment, and
  • Providing electrical safety information and education and training.

The ESO is funded through a provision (section 201) in the Electrical Safety Act 2002 (Qld), that requires distribution entities to pay a contribution to the regulator each financial year. The amount payable is determined in line with a clause in the Electrical Safety Act, which is based on the number of distribution entity’s retail premises. 

The AER must assess all requests for jurisdictional schemes under the National Electricity Rules (NER). Where a scheme meets the NER’s eligibility criteria, the AER must decide that the scheme is a jurisdictional scheme The AER must publish a determination assessing the scheme within 20 business days or receiving the request.